You won’t believe this boy!

So it has been 86 hours since Justin actually had his new heart and he is absolutely amazing.  We found out today that his heart was a gift from a 13 year old boy.  Enjoy these photos!

transplant-9408

Wendy takes a nap after being up with Justin all night.

transplant-9412Justin is moving his legs and scratching everywhere. But his torso and head must stay still. He does a good job at it.

transplant-9415Justin gives me a thumbs up to let us know that he is still ok despite the huge hole in his chest. It doesn’t seem to bother him.transplant-9418

The doc checks in on Justin to be sure he is doing well. He is.

transplant-9419That green stuff in the tube and jar is coming from his stomach. It is his incredible hulk juice!

transplant-9420The docs are getting younger and younger every day. It is a teaching hospital, so they have to start somewhere.

transplant-9424I use this tissue box and stickie notes to write down what is happening on a moment to moment basis. I can’t keep it all in my head. This helps.

transplant-9427Justin crosses his legs to let me know that he is comfortable. He does it just for me. I can’t believe how selfless he is.

transplant-9428With Justin’s vent tube and NG tube down his throat he can’t talk. So he asked to write on a clipboard. This was his first note. And of course he is asking food. It reads: I WAS WONDERING HOW LONG TAKE I EAT OF?  He is still on strong meds.

transplant-9430

CAN I PLEASE HAVE A JUICE BOX… ( the nurse said no so he said) TOO AND A MENU( she said he can’t eat so he said)  … A SMALL JUICE BOX (thinking if he asked for a small one they would say yes).

transplant-9435Kait loves to stay in the room and hold Justin’s hand. He will ask for a hug. He also asked Kait to stay in the room once (by clipboard, of course).

transplant-9442Here is another thumbs up this morning. He is having scary bad choking spells because of the vent tube. He is ok.

transplant-9445The nurses here work really fast! Maybe that is why he is recovering so well!!!

transplant-9462Justin is meditating trying to get to his “happy place” to bring his blood pressure down. He can control his heart! It’s crazy! He is pretending to pet his dog Puka. That is his happiest place he can be right now.

transplant-9463This photo shows how much the swelling has gone down. His chest was closed today. I will put pictures on tomorrow. He did so well during the closure. I will post more about that tomorrow.

transplant-9466He looks so much better that he did yesterday. It is crazy how much he improves every hour that goes by. We have rough moments, but he is consistently getting better. So there you have it. I will put more pics up as soon as possible. Love you all!

~ by liquidchildabuse on April 28, 2009.

10 Responses to “You won’t believe this boy!”

  1. Wow the pictures are amazing, I really appreciate all of them it really makes me feel like im there. I am so glad he is doing so much better. I can’t believe that he is asking for so much to eat. Cute boy. Gotta love the NG tubes. I really hope that he will be extubated tomorrow!

  2. I’m glad he’s doing well and the surgery was a success. Yall are all in my prayers! Love you!

  3. Holy smoke. I can’t even imagine what Justin is going to charge me to see this scar. You are in our thoughts and prayers every moment. Keep up the thumbs up.

  4. WOW We are all so happy and are praying for you all. Go Justin, he is awesome, can we get your address at the Ronald McDonald house? We would like to send Justin a card or something….
    We love you and God Bless, Bonnie and everyone at the dental lab.

  5. I so glad that his recovery is going well! Thanks for the pictures and for updating us on how things are going! I love getting to see the notes and hearing about him asking for a small juice box! Hopefully he can have some real food soon!

  6. Wendy, We are amazed at how good Justin is doing. He is a darling young man. He’s in our thought and prayers. Love to all, Karen & Harold

  7. lol, you would think that as a computer programmer I would have figured this out earlier… but I have tried posting time and time again, with no success. Finally figured out they want an email address!!! Anyway, we are thinking of you Justin. Just keep being yourself, and you will get through. Love — your uncle, aunt, and cousins in Phoenix.

  8. He gets even more handsome everyday! And he was pretty darn cute in the first place!!!

  9. Justin,
    You are amazing. You are a fighter and teach us all to milk life for all it’s worth and to appreciate it. You’re mom is amazing too as is your loving family that surrounds you in so many of these photos and vigilantly look over you. My boys have been asking about you and I will share this site with them and let see your story. When you are home, you can tell them your story. Also, don’t forget to check out the cute nurses and dish out soem of that boyish humor with a grin. Warmly, Peta and family.

  10. I’m speechless!

Leave a comment